Friday, January 8, 2016

How many commandments are in the Written Torah?

Jewish tradition says that there are 613 commandments. This is absolutely wrong.

THERE ARE ONLY 10 COMMANDMENTS in the Written Torah. 

See Ex 34:28, Deut 4:13 and Deut 10:4

All other commandments are explanations and clarifications of the 10. They can't be really counted because they are all interconnected. In a way, there is infinite number of commandments. This is why Torah can be interpreted in many different ways and this is why it can fit any time, any epoch.

The 10 commandments are called Covenant at Horeb (Deut 29:1).

Popular Posts

Blog Archive